It’s spring (apparently) and I have been getting that outdoorsy vibe – which is certainly helped along by the fact that there are suddenly loads of knats in the garden, slug trails appearing over my lovely tulips and flies buzzing about the place. To this end, I have been looking about for insect-inspired interiors and have come across some great little finds…

If you are looking for buggy fabrics, good old Alexander Henry has got yards of butterfly fabrics such as the one above quirky Japanese textile suppliers Lecien have got more ladybirds than you can shake a stick at. I love, love , love this Minny Miuu fabric it just makes me feel like I should be baking buns or squeezing lemons…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Another great buggy find is from Thornback and Peel who do these delightful tablecloths and such delights as cabbage-printed tea towels…and I am also hankering for these rather quirky etched glasses which fit snugly into their own special holder – I know they aren’t strictly insect inspired, but get a nice sticky shandy in them and you’ll soon attract some friendly garden ants! They are from Garden Trading and if you hurry, you can take advantage of the discount on offer until midnight – a generous 20% off – just enter E003 at the checkout. 

 

 

The Pier also has a good range of outdoor accessories like this beautiful glass wasp catcher – so no more swatting your scones in a panicky fluster as the bugs attack your cream tea. They too are offering a 20% discount all week.

I absolutely love this Helena V & A apron which makes me want to make jams just looking at it, and of course, to complete the country kitchen look, a good dose of gingham works every  time – C & H is an excellent source for buying cheap but quality dress making fabrics – gingham, is only £3.99 a metre! They have a reasonable haberdashery to boot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have also had my eye on this rather fetching oilcloth shopper (below) which is great for drizzly old Blighty but I have only managed to locate it at Hippy Chix Shop - which is (of course!) a US site but it’s a snip at $15. So you can’t argue with that. Simply divine!

So there you have a small dose of insect-inspired interiors for your delication…I will of course add more as I find them but for now, enjoy what little sunshine we are having…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

