Why are there no fabric shops? Why?

 

I have been thinking of creating a resource for those in my local area of Bristol and Bath for some time now as I have been growing increasingly frustrated with the lack of fabric shops in the South West.  

In London, there are more places to grab a fabriky bargain than you can shake a stick at so bear with me. Here goes:

 

My local haunt is The Nylon Shop on Two Mile Hill in Kingswood (no website sorry!) It smells bad but it’s cheap and has a good range of fabrics, often with new ranges coming in. The have mountains of felt for smaller projects and I bagged some great little trimmings for next to nothing to embellish my bags with. It’s a good all rounder and is open quite late so you can always pop there after work. Next door has this strange little shop full to bursting with feathers and findings, fake fur and other fripperies that can add some pizzazz to your projects.

 

 Fabric Land, York House, Bond St, Bristol – 0117 942 6155

Enter with caution! Is it me, or do you want to be inspired while you are shopping for material? Now, I don’t mean to be mean but unless you are searching for some nasty wet-look fabric for that fetish outfit you’ve been considering making or are a mum in desperate need of a nativity costume for Emily and Jack’s debut performances, then this really doesn’t have much for you. Ok, that’s a bit harsh – it has good cotton, a range of handy things like netting and calico and felt but in terms of getting some stylish textiles, I really wouldn’t bother.

 

 
Avon Textiles – St. Nicholas’ Market, Market Gate, BRistol – 01454 632 279

Yet another mixed bag to be found at Avon Textiles, tucked right out the way at St Nick’s Market off Corn Street. I went there, eyes full of promise, a happy heart, and returned with my little face crumpled and frustrated. It was old and smelly (again? C’mon people, get a glade plug-in! Heard of Febreeze anyone???) It had lots of putrid flarey old fabrics and lots of punky neon netting which I saw lots of A Level students buying to incorporate into for bizarre art projects but that was about it – plus it was quite pricy. So be warned, not all it’s cracked up to be.

 

 

 
Shannon, 68 Walcot Street Bath 01225 424222

 

Hurrah! This is more like it! Shannon is an exclusively Scandinavian store and has…wait for it…Marimekko fabrics in store! Yay! It ain’t cheap but it certainly is pretty. Don’t need to say anymore, just visit if you get the chance (note to above fabric shops: atmosphere goes a long way!)

 

 

Eastville Market, fabric supplies,  Eastville, Bristol, Avon BS5 6XY, 0845 355 2264

Cheap cheap cheap, often naff but good for buttons, bits and bobs for crafty projects. Cups of tea sell nearby for about 40p and the best bit is, it’s right next to the following resource…Yes, you guessed it – IKEA!

   Ok, so I sometimes ramble on about Ikea but to be honest, I’m so strapped for places to go, that Ikea offers a very reasonable and tasteful alternative. I have made many a cushion from treasures found at the Swedish furniture superstore.

 

 

And that’s all folks. Isn’t it sad? For  such a creative and diverse area as the South West, this is all I have managed to find – yes there are John Lewis, Cath Kidson and Laura Ashleys in abundance but it’s the little folk that I care about. So please, please, please, let me know if there are any others I have missed – there are bound to be but the issue is that I haven’t been able to find them, anywhere. Marketing goes a long way, eh?

 Until next time….

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

